Skip to content
East Ayrshire Counts — East Ayrshire, in numbers.Local help →

East Ayrshire, in numbers

People and living standards

East Ayrshire council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

East Ayrshire council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population fell from 124,020 in 1991 to 121,350 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

East Ayrshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 122,000 people in 1996; 121,350 people in 2025. 0.5% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — East Ayrshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991124,020
1992123,810
1993123,540
1994123,250
1995122,790
1996122,000
1997121,440
1998121,000
1999120,550
2000120,120
2001120,310
2002119,920
2003119,850
2004120,210
2005120,280
2006120,440
2007120,950
2008121,600
2009122,110
2010122,410
2011122,690
2012122,620
2013122,270
2014121,870
2015121,620
2016121,580
2017121,150
2018120,810
2019120,870
2020120,340
2021120,500
2022120,400
2023120,800
2024121,320
2025121,350
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

East Ayrshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 25,401 people in 1996; 19,980 people in 2025. 21.3% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — East Ayrshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199125,782
199225,773
199325,849
199425,926
199525,732
199625,401
199725,122
199824,849
199924,510
200024,152
200123,907
200223,440
200323,035
200422,900
200522,579
200622,279
200722,069
200821,980
200921,861
201021,674
201121,555
201221,473
201321,246
201420,979
201520,983
201621,016
201720,907
201820,873
201920,783
202020,631
202120,514
202220,371
202320,263
202420,268
202519,980
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

East Ayrshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 77,612 people in 1996; 73,977 people in 2025. 4.7% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — East Ayrshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199179,869
199279,520
199378,974
199478,588
199578,153
199677,612
199777,252
199877,052
199976,935
200076,717
200177,023
200276,985
200377,257
200477,657
200577,924
200678,213
200778,757
200879,225
200979,515
201079,593
201179,707
201278,922
201378,240
201477,688
201577,115
201676,640
201776,057
201875,409
201975,181
202074,532
202174,445
202274,077
202374,143
202474,123
202573,977
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

East Ayrshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 18,987 people in 1996; 27,393 people in 2025. 44.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — East Ayrshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199118,369
199218,517
199318,717
199418,736
199518,905
199618,987
199719,066
199819,099
199919,105
200019,251
200119,380
200219,495
200319,558
200419,653
200519,777
200619,948
200720,124
200820,395
200920,734
201021,143
201121,428
201222,225
201322,784
201423,203
201523,522
201623,924
201724,186
201824,528
201924,906
202025,177
202125,541
202225,952
202326,394
202426,929
202527,393
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2022 census · 120,302 residents
How this census compares with other years

Scotland’s census was held in 2022. These are native Scottish broad categories, with African separate from Caribbean or Black. The national term minority ethnic also includes some White groups, so it must not be read as non-White. Privacy-adjusted cells can differ from published totals. Categories containing an undefined source dash are unavailable pending a verified aggregate release or symbol definition.

Ethnic group · East Ayrshire · 2022
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White: Total117,66597.8%
Mixed or multiple ethnic groupNot availableNot available
Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: TotalNot availableNot available
African: TotalNot availableNot available
Caribbean or Black: TotalNot availableNot available
Other ethnic groups: TotalNot availableNot available

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 122,767 residents
How this census compares with other years

The 2011 UK table retains its own category structure, including a separate Traveller category. It is not automatically comparable with later national census categories or modern district boundaries.

Ethnic group · East Ayrshire · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White121,30498.8%
Gypsy / Traveller / Irish Traveller600%
Mixed / Multiple ethnic group2530.2%
Asian / Asian British: Indian1890.2%
Asian / Asian British: Pakistani2720.2%
Asian / Asian British: Bangladeshi100%
Asian / Asian British: Chinese3150.3%
Asian / Asian British: Other Asian1230.1%
Black / African / Caribbean / Black British1470.1%
Other Ethnic Group940.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 16.8% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

East Ayrshire council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £8,674 per person in 1997; £21,603 per person in 2024. 149.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — East Ayrshire council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19978,674
19988,786
19998,918
20009,605
200110,247
200210,731
200311,048
200411,734
200512,174
200612,638
200713,387
200813,623
200913,646
201014,157
201114,145
201214,397
201315,041
201415,354
201515,840
201615,978
201716,199
201816,278
201917,041
202017,185
202117,785
202218,826
202320,170
202421,603
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

East Ayrshire council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -18.2% in 1997; -16.8% in 2024. 1.4 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — East Ayrshire council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-18.2
1998-18.9
1999-21.2
2000-19.3
2001-17.2
2002-15.2
2003-15.2
2004-13.5
2005-13.4
2006-13.7
2007-12.8
2008-13.5
2009-14.8
2010-12.3
2011-13.2
2012-14.8
2013-14.1
2014-15.1
2015-16.7
2016-17
2017-17.8
2018-20.2
2019-19.1
2020-18.1
2021-18.6
2022-18
2023-17.5
2024-16.8
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults with no qualifications

Not available

20 March 2022 · East Ayrshire council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator. Scottish degree-or-higher excludes HNC/HND and is kept distinct from the wider Level 4+ measure used elsewhere.

A required output-area cell contains an undefined dash; the affected aggregate is withheld, not treated as zero.

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

Not available

20 March 2022 · East Ayrshire council area

Show the workings

All usual residents

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator.

A required output-area cell contains an undefined dash; the affected aggregate is withheld, not treated as zero.

Source →

Average home price

£139,000

July 2026 · East Ayrshire council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

Some Scottish ethnicity categories are withheld because their source output areas contain undefined dash markers: Mixed or multiple ethnic group; Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: Total; African: Total; Caribbean or Black: Total; Other ethnic groups: Total. The markers have not been interpreted as zero.

A verified 2001 Scottish ethnicity snapshot on this exact area code is not included in this release.

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.